Overcoming Doubt

A poem in me that is waiting to sprout
Of dark suspicions, of resounding doubt
 
Was there a betrayal, a thumping blow?
Was it lasting and glaring, enough to show?
 
A troubled past, so numbing, so stark
Had stayed with me, through periods of dark
 
Through shades of grey and traces of dust
The web of doubt had emboldened mistrust
 
Fear had captured the imaginative mind
But now, I must leave these shadows behind
 
Before all doubts engulf my soul
Through light I’ll emerge, as a whole
 
With belief and resolve, there’s room for cheer
To renew, to repair and to reappear
 
A flood of belief I will strive to find
For a legacy of trust to leave behind

Copyright © 2014 Pratish Shah (March 15, 2015)
Leave a Reply

